OF Level Descriptions

Levels are designed to offer the student a thorough understanding of the postures and depth of the subject. Prolonged study at each level insures steady progress in the art and science of yoga.

NOTE: You must have at least ONE YEAR of study with an Iyengar certified instructor to attend Manouso's Level 2-5 class. Manouso's permission is required to attend his Level 4-5 class.

A class designed to introduce the beginning student to the Iyengar method of hatha yoga.

Level 1
A foundation for learning the whole scope and depth of the Iyengar method is taught in standing poses, headstand, shoulderstand and other fundamental postures. It is recommended all students new to Iyengar yoga take this level for 1 to 2 years

Level 2
Deeper and expanded study of the standing poses and basic postures. Head balance, shoulderstand variations, unsupported backbends are taught. It is recommended that students spend 2 years at this level.

Level 3
A solid working knowledge of postures is taught with regular practice of inversions and backbends. Students should be developing a consistent, self-directed practice.

Level 4-5
This 2 hour class is for teachers and students with a maturity in postures through Level 3 and a consistent self-directed practice. Permission of the teacher is required

This 75 minute class is designed for people who prefer a slower pace.

Women Only
This class fosters community among women seeking the benefits of yoga. All levels are welcome.

Yoga Sutras
Learn to chant the Yoga Sutras of Patanjali and discuss the meaning of sutras in your practice and life.

765 Monterey Blvd · San Francisco CA 94127 ·